Search starts for National Chef of the Year 2010

By Emma Eversham

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags: National chef, Chef, Culinary art

This year's competition aims to reflect the diversity of the market
This year's competition aims to reflect the diversity of the market
The Craft Guild of Chefs has started its search for the National Chef of the Year 2010 and is encouraging chefs to get their entries in before the deadline on 28 May

Past winners of the bi-annual competition, which started in 1972, include Gordon Ramsay, Mark Sargeant and Simon Hulstone, who picked up the award in 2008​.

This year, the CGC has introduced new categories to reflect the diversity of today's marketplace. For the first time, applicants will be able to enter under specific categories which are:

  • Asian/Oriental
  • Modern British/Irish
  • European (Continental, Central and Eastern, Scandinavian and |Mediterranean)
  • African, the Americas and Australia

David Mulcahy, corporate events organiser for the CGC, said: “The competition is one of the mostly highly regarded events on the culinary calendar and is widely seen as the ultimate accolade for progressive chefs.

“In an effort to reflect changes within the restaurant industry, we have made some significant changes to this year’s event, introducing categories to encourage the more ethnically diverse cuisines. The National Chef of the Year competition continues to dominate the culinary competition arena and remains the most exciting competition to enter for aspiring chefs.”

Four heats hosting 10 semi-finalists selected through a paper judging process will take place at colleges in the UK before a live final at The Restaurant Show at Earl's Court on October 11.

For more details about entering contact Clair Bowman on 01293 610329 or visit



Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers