Women 1st reveals Shine Awards shortlist

By Lorraine Heller

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags: Chief executive officer, Management occupations

Women 1st will announce the finalists for its 2011 Shine Awards on 31 March
Women 1st will announce the finalists for its 2011 Shine Awards on 31 March
Women 1st has announced the shortlist for its 2011 Shine Awards, which recognise the success of women in the hospitality industry.

People 1st, the hospitality skills council, set up Women 1st​ in 2009 in an effort to encourage women in their hospitality careers. This year’s awards, which will be accompanied by the inaugural publication of the Top 100 Most Influential Women in the industry listing, focus on five categories.

Finalists in each category are:

Outstanding Entrepreneur:

  • Jillian MacLean, founder and managing director, Drake & Morgan
  • Wendy Shand, founder, Tots to Travel
  • Camellia and Namita Panjabi, co-owners, Masala World
  • Lou Willcock, founder and director, IndiCater

Woman of the Year:

  • Jill McDonald, chief executive officer, McDonald’s UK & president Northern Division
  • Victoria Sanders, managing director, Teletext Holidays
  • Jane Sunley, chief executive officer, Learn Purple
  • Michelle Hanson, commercial director, Sodexo


  • Carrie Wicks, director of operations, Firmdale Hotels PLC
  • Lou Willcock, founder and director, IndiCater
  • Jez Langhorn, vice president, people, McDonald's

Rising Star:

  • Xoe Donovan, general manager, The Longford House Beefeater and Cannock South Premier Inn
  • Anna Baker, senior marketing executive, Bourne Leisure
  • Wendy Halsall-Bennett, general services manager, Sodexo

Lifetime achievement award:

  • Robyn Jones OBE, founder, CH&Co
  • Gill Benwell, director, Bourne Leisure
  • Vivien Sirotkin, operations director, Q Hotels
  • Maggie Berry, chair, Farm Stay UK (retired 2010)

Women 1st received over 250 nominations for this year’s awards.

Natalie Bickford, Sodexo’s UK and Ireland HR director and chair of Women 1st said: “Our judges were impressed with the outstanding nominations this year and all of those shortlisted are an inspiration to us all.

“Showcasing females in the industry who have worked hard to achieve their career aspirations will inspire countless others to emulate that success and continue to make a valuable contribution.”

The winners will be announced on 31 March.

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers