Thirty-two winners named in 2011 Annual Awards of Excellence

By Becky Paskin

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags: Le manoir aux, Manoir aux quat’saisons

The Annual Awards of Excellence is organised by the Academy of Culinary Arts
The Annual Awards of Excellence is organised by the Academy of Culinary Arts
The winners of the 2011 Annual Awards of Excellence have been announced, with staff from Gleneagles Hotel in Scotland and Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons in Oxfordshire claiming the most awards.

Following finals held at Le Gavroche, Gleneagles and Thames Valley University, 32 awards were handed out in total, across Kitchen, Pastry and Service categories.

Candidates had to score over 70 per cent in a number of tasks set by the panel of judges, which was headed by John Williams, executive of The Ritz and chairman of the Academy of Culinary Arts.

Kitchen Finalists had 4.5 hours to produce a starter featuring razor clams and ingredients from a mystery box; a main of venison Wellington with fondant potatoes, glazed carrots, stuffed cabbage, celeriac puree and a red wine jus; and a modern interpretation of a lemon meringue dessert.

Pastry Finalists had five hours to produce an Easter themed centrepiece and petits fours including moulded chocolates, financiers and fruit tartlets.

Service Finalists were required to decant and describe wines to the judging panel and set up and serve a three-course meal with wines and liqueurs to a table of two.

The winners of the 2011 Annual Awards of Excellence are:


Dimitair Angelkovski, Turnberry Resort
Alastair Clayton, Galvin at Windows
Tessa Clingham, Galvin at Windows
Romain Fouquet, Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
Ryan Murphy, Turnberry Resort
Jamie Randall, Galvin La Chapelle
Paul Reader, The Royal Household, Buckingham Palace
Adam Reid, Simon Radley at the Chester Grosvenor
Ewan Simpson, Claridge’s
Michael Tweedie, Lucknam Park Hotel


Mike Cope, The Gleneagles Hotel
Paul Dickinson, Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
Stefan Howells, Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
Aminuddin Shaikh, Pennyhill Park Hotel and Spa
Glen Sharman, Pennyhill Park Hotel and Spa


Sophie Alaimo, The Westbury Hotel
Houssem Belabed, The Gleneagles Hotel
Tina Diefenbach, Le Manoir aux Quat’Saisons
Katie Lister, The Gleneagles Hotel
Johanna Marty, The Royal Automobile Club
Lucia Mottarella, Quirinale Restaurant
Rita Nagy, Turnberry Resort
Johanna Naumann, L’Atelier de Joël Robuchon
David Nicu-Catalin, Galvin Bistrot de Luxe
Wojciech Pastor, The Gleneagles Hotel
Caterina Petragallo, The Gleneagles Hotel
Joao Rocha, The Westbury Hotel
Carlota Santos, The Gleneagles Hotel
Louise Schmidt, The Gleneagles Hotel
Burak Sen, The Ritz London
Romain Taverne, Galvin at Windows
Sam Ward, The Ritz London

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers