Finalists revealed for Annual Awards of Excellence 2012

By Luke Nicholls

- Last updated on GMT

Related tags: Manoir aux quat, Le manoir aux, Chef, Le manoir aux quat

The Academy of Culinary Arts is a professional association of head chefs, pastry chefs, restaurant managers and suppliers
The Academy of Culinary Arts is a professional association of head chefs, pastry chefs, restaurant managers and suppliers
Nearly 50 young chefs, pastry chefs and waiters have made it through to the finals of the Academy of Culinary Arts’ Annual Awards of Excellence 2012.

The Awards, which aim to inspire and encourage young people to achieve the highest possible standards in their chosen profession, saw over 100 competitors take part in seven semi-finals across the UK. Heston Blumenthal is this year’s honorary president.

Candidates who successfully achieve the Award of Excellence will be invited to a Gala Presentation Dinner at which they will be presented with a certificate recognising their achievement and a chefs jacket (kitchen and pastry) or sommeliers apron (service).

The candidate who scores the highest mark in each section will also be awarded with prizes including a scholarship from the Savoy Educational Trust, Meyer cookware and Victorinox knives.

The finalists for the Annual Awards of Excellence are:

 Kitchen finalists

  • Aaron Potter, Trinity Restaurant
  • Andrew Whitelaw, 1906 Restaurant
  • Ben Howarth, Le Manoir aux Quat’ Saisons
  • Charles McKenna, Turnberry Resort
  • Danny Lee, Galvin La Chapelle
  • Gareth Wayt, Opus Restaurant
  • Ian Musgrave, The Ritz
  • Jack Allibone, Simpsons Restaurant
  • Josh Bingham, Le Manoir aux Quat’ Saisons
  • Michael Hodges, The Ebury
  • Simon Suffolk, White’s
  • Thomas Swanborough, Wiltons

Pastry finalists

  • Diana Sedlakovia, Chancery Court Hotel
  • Gabriel Campino, London Hilton Park Lane
  • Melissa Paul, William Curley
  • Shaun Mason, Buckinham Palace
  • Theresa Martinez, Sheraton Park Lane Hotel

 Service finalists

  • Charles Beaini, The Hand and Flowers
  • Adam Willis, Le Manoir aux Quat’ Saisons
  • Jonathan Whitemore, Ellenborough Park
  • Michael Heine, The Waterside Inn
  • Alexandre Keita, Kitchen W8
  • Claire Ratcliffe, Le Gavroche
  • Alexandre Sojfer, Le Gavroche
  • Benjamin Debloos, Le Garvroche
  • Romain Crozat, Galvin at Windows
  • Stephanie Srey, Galvin at Windows
  • Stuart McIvor, Galvin at Windows
  • Robert Leatherbarrow, Park Restaurant
  • Romain Maunier, Petrus
  • Alessandro Dinato, Galvin la Chapelle
  • Colett Becker, The Ritz
  • Sabrina Gallo, Northcote Manor
  • Galvin Jones, Clocktower Restaurant
  • Joana Maria Pons Gari, Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles
  • Matthew Busby, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Mhari Mutch, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Swayam Roka, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Grant Fleming, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Paul Reich, The Gleneagles Hotel
  • Laura Kerr, The Gleneagles Hotel

The Kitchen and Pastry finals will take place at the University of West London on Wednesday 20 June and the Service finals will take place at Le Gavroche on Saturday 16 June and The Gleneagles Hotel on Monday 25 June.

Related topics: Events & Awards, People, Restaurants, Business

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers

Free Email Newsletter

Subscribe to BigHospitality

The trusted industry reference point

Get the latest news & analysis from the UK hospitality sector straight to your inbox!