The Jamie Oliver Group (JOG) has signed an agreement to lease 17,500 sq.ft in two heritage buildings, and the King’s Cross Central Ltd Partnership is now about start the renovating them on its behalf.
The western end of the Fish & Coal building will be converted into a pub, with a new roof conservatory and an outdoor roof terrace overlooking the canal, while the lower level Wharf Road Arches will form part of a new restaurant.
As part of the refurbishment, the construction firm will also add office space and test kitchens, as JOG plans to move its creative centre from Piccadilly to King’s Cross.
Morwenna Wilson, Argent (King’s Cross) Ltd., the asset manager at King’s Cross, said: “These buildings are stunning examples of robust, Victorian industrial architecture. Jamie Oliver Group is the perfect partner to work with to restore these buildings to their former glory and make them thriving and bustling centres of activity once again.”
The Fish & Coal buildings, which was built in 1851 to provide offices for coal trade clerical workers, was partly destroyed by a fire in 1983, and has since been unused, apart from temporary art exhibitions in recent years.
Meanwhile the Wharf Road Arches provided stabling for the horses transporting goods from King’s Cross Station to their final destination, and were turned into The Cross nightclub in the 1990s. They have been unused since it closed down in 2007.
The Jamie Oliver Group recently reached a milestone when turnover for Jamie’s Italian surpassed the £100m mark for FY2013.
The company has renegotiated its revolving credit facility, increasing it to £25m and extending it for another three years, as it continues to roll out the Jamie’s Italian brand internationally.