Craft Guild of Chefs announces 2016 Chefs Awards nominations

By Hannah Thompson contact

- Last updated on GMT

Craft Guild of Chefs announces 2016 Chefs Awards nominations
The Craft Guild of Chefs has announced its 2016 Chefs Awards nominations, including top chefs Allan Pickett from the newly-opened Piquet, Steve Groves from Roux at Parliament Square, Will Holland at Coast Restaurant, and James Mackenzie at the Pipe and Glass Inn.  

Often known as the ‘Chefs’ Oscars’, the awards aim to recognise chef talent across a variety of sectors in hospitality, including apprentices, lecturers, and in banqueting, the public sector, the armed forces, contract catering, restaurants and within pastry. There is also an award for young chefs.

The final awards ceremony will take place at the Lancaster London hotel on 1 June.

The full list features top establishments and companies across the UK, including the South Lodge hotel, Le Pont de La Tour, the Royal Airforce, the National Trust, Café Spice Namasté, and the two-Michelin-starred Restaurant Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles. Steve Groves, nominated in the Restaurant Chef category, won the BBC programme MasterChef: The Professionals​ in 2009. 

Full list of nominations

Apprentice Chef

Eleanor De Maria, Eurest Services

Tom Hamblet, South Lodge Hotel

Bronwen Jenkins, Royal Garden Hotel

Jack Kalarus, Le Pont de la Tour

Jacob Webb, Sodexo UK


Armed Services

Richard Greenhalgh, Royal Air Force

Phil Owen, Royal Navy

Sgt. Jonathan Smith, Royal Air Force


Banqueting/Event Chef

James Buckley, Levy Restaurants

Daniel Humphreys, Whittlebury Hall

Karen Poynter, Chester Boyd


Chef Lecturer

John Crowe, North West Regional College - Ireland

Rik Razza, BaxterStorey

Mathew Shropshall, UCB - College of Food

Barry Smyth, Southern Regional College - Ireland


Competition Chef

Jamie Gibbs, Compass Group

Robert Kennedy, Sandhurst Military College

Nick Smith, Imagination


Contract Catering Chef

Glynn Lawrence, Sodexo UK

Liam McDonough, Sodexo UK

Stuart Nisbet, Elior UK

Jim Wealands, Lusso


Development Chef

Diane Camp, Reynolds Catering Supplies Ltd

Clive Goudercourt, National Trust

Jack Jepson-Sykes, Pabulum Catering

Dan Kelly, Vacherin Limited


Ethnic Chef

Saurav Nath, Inito Limited

Chad Rahman, Chez Mumtaj

Manpreet Singh, Café Spice Namasté


Pastry Chef

Morsingh Jakhi, The Cinnamon Club

Simon Jenkins, Simon Neil Jenkins Consultancy

Stephen Tarling, Daylesford Organic


Pub Restaurant Chef

Rob Allcock, The Longs Arms

Scott Fairweather, Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant Crosthwaite

James Mackenzie, The Pipe and Glass Inn

Gordon Stott, The Sun Inn


Public Sector Chef

Scott Pring, Bridgewater College

Tim Roberts, Sodexo UK

Martin Rowe, Quantum Care



Steve Groves, Roux at Parliament Square

Will Holland, Coast Restaurant

Allan Pickett, Piquet


Young Chef

Victoria Edwards, Crerar Glencoe Inn & Gathering

Jonathan Feguson, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie @ Gleneagles

Arthur Quin, Punch Bowl Inn & Restaurant Crosthwaite

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers

Free Email Newsletters

Subscribe to BigHospitality & Restaurant

From fine dining to street food, choose the newsletter that suits you and get the latest news & analysis straight to your inbox!