Royal Academy of Culinary Arts 2017 finalists announced

By Hannah Thompson contact

- Last updated on GMT

Finalists 2017 Royal Academy of Culinary Arts

Related tags: Belmond le manoir, Le manoir aux, Chef

The Royal Academy of Culinary Arts has announced the finalists in its Annual Awards of Excellence 2017, including staff from The Ritz, Belmond Le Manoir Aux Quat’Saisons, Claridge’s, L’enclume, and Moor Hall.

The Awards are split into three categories: chefs (kitchen); pastry chefs; and service, and are intended to offer a strong learning experience to entrants and encourage them to achieve the highest possible standards.

They are not a competition, but an examination: none or all entrants could achieve the Award, depending on whether they reach the standard set by the judges.

In addition, the candidate who scores the highest mark in their category will be named the Royal Academy of Culinary Arts Young Chef, Young Pastry Chef, or Young Waiter 2017.

The finals will be held at Le Gavroche on 13 May (London Service Final); at Gleneagles on 22 May (Scottish Service Final); and at the University of West London (UWL) on 7 June (Kitchen Final and Pastry Final).

Over 550 young professionals have achieved the Award since its inception in 1983.

High-profile judges

The 2017 judging panel comprises Jason Atherton, Michelin-starred chef patron of The Social Company (Pollen Street Social, Social Eating House, City Social etc) as Honorary President of the AAE 2017; John Williams, Michelin-starred executive chef at The Ritz; and as Joint Chairmen of Kitchen, Martyn Nail, executive chef at Claridge’s; and Adam Byatt, Michelin-starred chef patron of Trinity.

Joint Chairmen of Pastry are pastry consultant Sarah Hartnett and Yolande Stanley of The Pastry Training Company.

Joint Chairmen of Service are Sergio Rebecchi, director of Serenata Hospitality, and John Cousins, director of The Food and Beverage Training Company.

Testing tasks

The chefs are tested on a variety of food preparation skills, including making a salad and butchery, and must show competence in a range of dishes, including soups, desserts, and a recipe of their own choice.

The pastry chefs must show ability in many skills including chocolate and sugar work, and must also demonstrate creativity and skills in baking and plated desserts.

The service (waiters) entrants are tested on their competence in a range of food and beverage aspects, including product knowledge, technical service, interpersonal skills, and teamwork.

This year’s kitchen finalists include chefs from Fera at Claridge’s, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie, The Ritz, and Le Manoir.

The pastry finalists include chefs from Hakkasan, Mosimann’s, Roux at the Landau, Claridge’s, Le Manoir, and Harrods.

The service finalists come from establishments including L’enclume, Moor Hall, The Lanesborough, Cromlix Hotel, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, The Ritz, André Garrett at Cliveden, Gleneagles Hotel, The Greenhouse and more.



Olivia Catherine Burt, Fera at Claridge's

Charles Coulombeau, Gravetye Manor

Jonathan Ferguson, Restaurant Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles

Samuel King, The Ritz London

Henry Wadsworth, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Tom Waters, Perilla

Fergus Wilford, Andre Garrett at Cliveden



Harry Barber, Hakkasan

Nicholas Bentley, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Elena Bockshecker, Harrods

Olivia Bösch, Mosimann's

Marceau Gouret, Roux at the Landau

Alan Holloway, Claridge's

Charles Liets, Harrods

Mathilde Pilaete, Alfred Dunhill

Madeline Thell, Harrods



Emma Burgess, Cromlix Hotel

Lauren Chappell, Cromlix Hotel

Graeme Cumine, L'Enclume

James Dainton, André Garrett at Cliveden

Lea Deliere, The French Table

Federico Dell'isola, The Lanesborough

Andrea Diolaiuti, The Ritz London

Lorelei Fruhauf, Dinner by Heston Blumenthal

Piers Gibson-Birch, Luton Hoo Hotel

Karen Gruet, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Ellen Herslow, The Westbury Hotel

Lewis Hunter, The Gleneagles Hotel

Ross Hunter, The Gleneagles Hotel

Rosanna Law, The Gleneagles Hotel

Gary Lee, The Ritz London

Joao Luiz Gomes, André Garrett at Cliveden

Alessandro Marra, Alyn Williams at the Westbury

Samuel Melotti, The Greenhouse

Anais Niang, Little Ship Club

Stefanie Obermayer, The Gleneagles Hotel

Remi Orero, The Greenhouse

Natalie Pope, Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons

Charlotte Poynton, The Three Chimneys

Simone Rizzo, The Ritz London

Giuseppe Scudiero, The Ritz London

Alba Serrano, The Bath Priory Hotel

Elena Silveri, The Gleneagles Hotel

Manvir Singh, The Gleneagles Hotel

Antonella Sinisgallo, Roux at the Landau

Emma Smith, Turnberry Resort

Alexander Sumerauer, The Ritz London

Gabriele Tarantola, The Ritz London

Larissa Varini, The Bath Priory Hotel

Valerio Vita, Galvin at Windows

Thomas Wickens, The Berkeley Hotel

Ellen Woodcock , Moor Hall Restaurant with Rooms

Related topics: Business

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers