Shortlist revealed for 2019 Estrella Damm National Restaurant Awards

By Joe Lutrario contact

- Last updated on GMT

Shortlist revealed for 2019 Estrella Damm National Restaurant Awards

Related tags: National restaurant awards, Awards, Chefs, Front of house

Restaurant magazine has announced the shortlist for the 2019 Estrella Damm National Restaurant Awards, which are being held at London’s The Hurlingham Club on Monday 10 June.

The awards​ feature three shortlisted categories - Chefs’ Chef of the Year; Restaurateur of the Year; and Chef to Watch - with nominees being voted for by the National Restaurant Awards academy voters.

The annual awards, which are now in their 12th year, celebrate the top 100 restaurants in the UK as voted for by the UK’s top chefs, restaurateurs, food writers, critics and other food experts and gastronomes, with the coveted Estrella Damm National Restaurant of the Year award being handed out on the night.

The Chefs’ Chef of the Year category recognises a chef that has had the biggest impact on the restaurant scene in the past 12 months while the Restaurateur of the Year category recognises individuals or teams who have played a significant role in the UK restaurant sector in the past year and look to continue to do so in the coming 12 months.

The Chef to Watch category singles out an individual that is set to have a stellar 12 months (and more) ahead of them, regardless of age or experience.

Awards for Best Cocktail List, Wine List of the Year, The Service Award, Lifetime Achievement, Sustainable Restaurant of the Year, Gastropub of the Year, and the Best Restaurants in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland will also be presented on the night.

In addition, the One to Watch award will be presented, recognising a newly-opened restaurant that is set to be a huge hit over the coming 12 months.

The OpenTable Fit For Foodies award, based on the opinions of more than 400,000 reviews submitted by OpenTable diners at more than 4,000 restaurants, will also be presented on the night, as will the Highest New Entry award. 

To book your ticket for the event, email fgrivr.ebovafba@jeoz.pbz .

The Shortlisted Categories

Chefs’ Chef of the Year

Mark Birchall, Moor Hall
Jeremy Chan, Ikoyi
Adam Handling, Adam Handling Restaurants 
Asma Khan, Darjeeling Express
James Knappett, Kitchen Table 
Clare Smyth, Core

Restaurateur of the Year

Will Bowlby and Rik Campbell, Kricket
Jackson Boxer and Andrew Clark, Brunswick House, St Leonards, Orasay
Sam Hart, James Hart, Crispin Somerville, Harts Group 
Margot Henderson and Melanie Arnold, Rochelle Canteen, Rochelle ICA
Tom and Michaela Kitchin, The Kitchin, The Scran & Scallie, The Bonnie Badger, Southside Scran
Simon Shaw, El Gato Negro, Canto

Chef to Watch

Sally Abe, The Harwood Arms, London
Neil Bentinck, Skosh, York
Alisdair Brooke-Taylor, The Moorcock Inn, West Yorkshire
Luke French, Joro, Sheffield
Anna Haugh, Myrtle, London
Kimberley Hernandez, XU, London
Santiago Lastra, Kol
Chase Lovecky, Two Lights, London
Simon Martin, Mana, Manchester
Patrick Powell, Allegra, London
Tom Kemble, The Pass, Horsham
Emily Scott, St Tudy Inn, Cornwall

Related news

Show more



Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers