Roux Scholarship 2020 names 18 regional finalists

By Sophie Witts contact

- Last updated on GMT

Roux Scholarship 2020 names 18 regional finalists

Related tags: Chefs

The Roux Scholarship has named the 18 regional finalists for the 2020 competition.

The chefs were selected based on paper applications and written recipes submitted anonymously to the judges.

They will go on to compete in two regional finals, which will be held simultaneously on 19 March at University College Birmingham and the University of West London, Ealing.

Six winners selected from the two finals will go through to the national final, which takes place at Westminster Kingsway College, London.

The judges for the final cook-off will be Alain Roux, Michel Roux Jr, Brian Turner CBE, Sat Bains, Angela Hartnett and the Honorary President of Judges Bjorn Frantzén of Stockholm’s first three-Michelin-starred Michelin restaurant Frantzén.

The Roux Scholarship was founded in 1984 by Michel Roux Sr OBE and his brother Albert.

The winner of the 2019 Scholarship will receive £6,000 to support their career development, and the chance to cook and train at a three-Michelin-starred restaurant anywhere in the world for up to three months.

The chefs competing in London

Benjamin Champkin, Roganic, London 

Caer Timberlake, Restaurant 22, Cambridge

Ryan Baker, Corinthia, London

Julian Elkjaer, Whatley Manor, Wiltshire

Oli Williamson, The Greenhouse, London

Conor Bird, House of Commons, London

Christos Sidiropoulos, The Ritz, London

Stephen McClarty, Restaurant Associates, London

Tobias Smith, The Leathersellers Company, London

Olivia Catherine Burt, Claridge’s, London

Michael Cruickshank, Bohemia, Jersey

Oliver Dovey, BaxterStorey Fine Dining, London

Judges:​ Alain Roux, Brian Turner CBE, André Garrett (2002 scholar), Rachel Humphrey, Clare Smyth MBE

The chefs competing in Birmingham

Scott Braithwaite, L’Enclume, Cartmel, Cumbria

Jonathan Ferguson, The Raby Hunt Restaurant,  Co. Durham

Oliver Marlow, Roganic, London

Curtis Tonge, Northcote, Lancashire

Jac Webster, Angel at Hetton, Yorkshire

Joshua Fulcher, Restaurant 22, Cambridge

Judges:​ Michel Roux Jr, Sat Bains (1999 scholar), Angela Hartnett MBE, Simon Hulstone (2003 scholar).

There are two chefs in reserve (should any finalists not be able to compete):

Connor Wilson, The Traddock, North Yorkshire

Nathan Cornwell, Moor Hall, Lancashire

Related topics: Events & Awards

Related news


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers

Free Email Newsletter

Subscribe to BigHospitality

The trusted industry reference point

Get the latest news & analysis from the UK hospitality sector straight to your inbox!