Telling Whoppers? Burger King ads banned

By Joe Lutrario contact

- Last updated on GMT

Burger King Rebel Whopper ads banned

Related tags: UnitedWeStand, Coronavirus, Burger king, Fast food, Advertising standards authority

Burger King’s Rebel Whopper adverts have been banned for suggesting the burgers - which are cooked on the same grill used for meat and contain mayonnaise made with egg - are suitable for vegans.

The Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) said the burger giant’s claim that the burger is “100% Whopper, no beef” could be understood to mean it did not contain animal products.

Burger King said that it had been “clear and transparent” in its marketing and that it had communicated from the outset that the Rebel Whopper is aimed at a flexitarian audience.

Small print at the bottom of some of the adverts stated that the Rebel Whopper may not be suitable for vegans or vegetarians as it was cooked alongside other meat products and that the mayonnaise contained egg. 

The fast food chain also said that a customers could order the burger without mayonnaise.

Supplied by Unilever under its Vegetarian Butcher brand, the patties are 100% plant-based.

But the ASA upheld the complaint, saying that the green colour palette and the timing of the ad and product release to coincide with Veganuary gave the impression that the product was suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Burger King has already come under fire online over the Rebel Whopper not being suitable for vegans.

Last year, the company launched a meat-free halloumi burger that was unsuitable for vegetarians as it was cooked in the same oil as chicken and fish.

Related topics: Legislation

Related news

Spotlight

Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers

Free Email Newsletter

Subscribe to BigHospitality

The trusted industry reference point

Get the latest news & analysis from the UK hospitality sector straight to your inbox!