2020 Roux Scholarship postponed again

By Joe Lutrario contact

- Last updated on GMT

2020 Roux Scholarship postponed again

Related tags: Roux scholarship, Cooking competitions, Chefs, Fine dining

The Roux family has again postponed the 2020 Roux Scholarship regional and national finals, which were due to take place in Birmingham and London in March next year.

A new date for the finals is yet to be set but will be ‘communicated in due course’. 

“The health and welfare of our fantastic participants, as well as all stakeholders and guests, remains our highest priority,” says chairman Alain Roux. 

“With no end to the current limitations in sight and in view of the ongoing uncertainty, postponement is the only safe option. We appreciate everyone’s brilliant support as we work through this. We cannot wait to find our 2020/21 scholar.”

“We are disappointed at having to delay, yet again, the finale of this year’s competition but we are all facing unprecedented challenges,” 

“We remain committed to maintaining the high quality and experience of the semi-finals, national final and award ceremony. Our determination to see this competition through remains undimmed.” 

The 18 regional finalists, as well as the first reserve, selected at the paper judging stage in March 2020 will automatically qualify as regional finalists and cook their recipes for hake, palourde clams and leeks in the regional cook-offs at University College Birmingham and at the University of West London.

The judges will be Michel Roux Jr, Alain Roux, Brian Turner, Clare Smyth, Angela Hartnett, Rachel Humphrey, James Martin, Sat Bains (1999 scholar), André Garrett (2002 scholar) and Simon Hulstone (2003 scholar). 

The six most successful chefs will be selected to compete in the national final, when honorary president of judges Björn Frantzén, from three-star Michelin Restaurant Frantzén in Stockholm, will lead the panel of judges. There will be no application process in 2021.

The regional finalists 

Scott Braithwaite, L’Enclume, Cartmel, Cumbria

Jonathan Ferguson, The Raby Hunt Restaurant, Co. Durham

Oliver Marlow, Roganic, London

Curtis Tonge, The Bull & Bear, Manchester

Jac Webster, The Angel at Hetton, Yorkshire

Joshua Fulcher, Restaurant 22, Cambridge

Benjamin Champkin, The Newt, Somerset

Caer Timberlake, Restaurant 22, Cambridge

Ryan Baker, Maison Francois, London

Julian Elkjaer, Whatley Manor, Wiltshire

Oli Williamson, London

Conor Bird, House of Commons, London

Christos Sidiropoulos, The Ritz, London

Stephen McClarty, Restaurant Associates, London

Tobias Smith, The Leathersellers Company, London

Olivia Catherine Burt, Claridge’s, London

Michael Cruickshank, Bohemia, Jersey

Oliver Dovey, BaxterStorey Fine Dining, London

Connor Wilson, The Traddock, North Yorkshire 

Related news

Show more



Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers