Sustainable hospitality businesses honored at the Footprint Awards 2015

By Sophie Witts contact

- Last updated on GMT

Sustainable hospitality businesses honored at the Footprint Awards 2015

Related tags: Spirit pub company, Sustainability

Pret A Manger and the Spirit Pub Company were among hospitality businesses recognised for their sustainability efforts at the Footprint Awards last week (4 June).

Now in its fifth year, the awards celebrate the most innovative green campaigns and initiatives that are driving best practice across all sectors.

Nick Fenwicke-Clennell, CEO of Footprint, said: “We have started to see real progression and innovation across the supply chain to ensure sustainability is at the forefront of best practice.

"All of the nominees have demonstrated just how far business has come in half a decade to reduce waste, become more energy efficient and create new social initiatives.”

Charles Miers, managing director of Footprint, was positive about the future although he felt that there was still much more that could be done to see the industry become truly sustainable.

He said: “The examples showcased tonight demonstrate the wonderful efforts being made to make a real difference to the environment and society. From Harper Adams University to Going Underground, the awards illustrate that even small businesses can make a big impact."

Full list of Footprint award winners 2015:

Sustainable Use of Natural Resources Award

Winner: Wyke Farms

Runner Up: Smith Anderson Group

Waste Management & Reduction Award

Winner: Winnow

Runner Up: Simply Cups

Environmentally Efficient Logistics Award

Winner: Kuehne+Nagel

Joint Runner Up: Greggs plc

Joint Runner Up: Bidvest Foodservice

Responsible Sourcing Award

Winner: Pret A Manger

Runner Up: Nestlé Professional

Sustainable Supplier Award

Winner: Brita Professional

Runner Up: Johnsons Stalbridge

Energy Efficiency Award

Winner: Spirit Pub Company in assoc. Total and Inenco

Runner Up: Wyke Farms

Sustainable Catering Equipment Manufacturer Award

Winner: Gram UK

Runner Up: Winterhalter

Stakeholder Engagement Award

Winner: WRAP

Runner Up: Sodexo UK & Ireland

Sustainable Innovation in Packaging Award

Winner: Delta Packaging

Runner Up: Huhtamaki UK

Social Impact & Diversity Award

Winner: Tate & Lyle Sugars

Runner Up: innocent drinks

Sustainability in Education Award

Winner: Harper Adams University

Runner Up: University of Reading

The Community Vote

Joint Winner: Going Underground, London

Joint Winner: The Keel Row, Seaton Delaval, Northumberland

Runner Up: The Yews, Leicester

Footprint Special Achievement Award 2015

Winner: Allegra McEvedy MBE, Patron of the Fairtrade Foundation

Related news

Show more


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers