Björn Frantzén named Honorary President of Judges for Roux Scholarship 2020

By James McAllister

- Last updated on GMT

Björn Frantzén named Honorary President of Judges for Roux Scholarship 2020

Related tags: Roux scholarship competition

Sweden’s first three-star Michelin chef Björn Frantzén has been appointed Honorary President of Judges for the 2020 Roux Scholarship competition.

Frantzén, whose eponymous Stockholm restaurant has held three Michelin stars since 2018, will also host Roux Scholarship 2019 winner Spencer Metzger​ for a three-month stage from January.

“It's a great honour to be asked to join as Honorary President for 2020,” says Frantzén.

“Having spent more than six years in the UK during my early career, the Roux Family has also been important for my own cooking.

“So it's with great pleasure I’m joining the legendary Roux Family for such an important cause in inspiring and making sure our industry is taking care of young talents; without them, our loved industry is nothing.”

The announcement coincides with the launch of the Roux Scholarship 2020.

The contest opens for entries on 12 November, after which chefs will have until 31 January to apply with a recipe using selected ingredients.

The winner will receive £6,000 to support their career development, and the chance to cook and train at a three-Michelin-starred restaurant anywhere in the world for up to three months.

Frantzén is the fifth Honorary President of Judges to play a part in the Roux Scholarship, following on from the likes of Pierre Gagnaire, Anne-Sophie Pic, and Peter Gilmore.

“It’s a privilege to welcome Björn Frantzen as our Honorary President,” says competition chairman Alain Roux

“He is a modern icon, an astonishing chef, and easily one of the most exciting and creative chefs working in Europe today.”

Related topics: Business & Legislation

Related news



Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers