Springboard announces winners of Awards for Excellence 2016

By Sophie Witts contact

- Last updated on GMT

Springboard announces winners of Awards for Excellence 2016

Related tags: Employment

Byron, QHotels and Peach Pubs were among the winners of Springboard's Awards for Excellence 2016.

Over 550 people attended a ceremony at Novotel London West in the capital last night (24 November).

The awards, now in their 13th​ year, celebrate individuals and employers in the hospitality industry who have worked to attract and retain talent.

QHotels took home three awards, The Education and Industry Partnership Award, Best Recruitment Initiative Award, and Best Use of Digital Media to Attract Talent.

Peach Pub Company took home the Best Employer Award, while David Noble, director of James Hallam Insurance, won the Chris Beaumont Special Award for his fundraising to efforts to support Springboard over the past eight years.

The Fiona Colley Award went to Kai Palmer and Connor Pomroy, who completed Springboard’s Let’s Cook programme and will now receive a scholarship to help develop their career.

Anne Pierce, Springboard CEO, said: “The winners this year have shown themselves to be true champions of our industry, raising hospitality’s profile and attracting talented individuals into vibrant careers.”

The 2016 winners in full:

Category 1 – Promoting Careers

The Springboard Ambassador’s Award sponsored by Bestway

Gareth Billington (Sodexo)

Gather & Gather

Best Regional Initiative Award sponsored by Conviviality Plc
The Glasgow Marriott

The Education and Industry Partnership Award sponsored by Serviceline

Category 2 – Attracting and Developing People

Best Work Experience Provider Award sponsored by James Hallam
Harrison Catering Services Ltd

Best Use of Digital Media Award to Attract Talent sponsored by drp

Best Recruitment Initiative Award sponsored by Caterer.com

The Young People Award sponsored by American Express
Inspired Youth

Best Chef Development Strategy sponsored by Gram
Lucknam Park Hotel & Spa

The Best Housekeeping Team Initiative Award sponsored by Bonasystems
Tzveta Ivanova – The Milestone Hotel

Best Management Development Strategy
Lexington Catering

Best Food and Beverage Strategy sponsored by Handpicked Hotels
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge

Category 3 – Best Employment Practice

The Best Apprenticeship Strategy sponsored by Lifetime Training
Greene King

Best Career Progression Award sponsored by COREcruitment
St. Austell Brewery

The Retention Award sponsored by CH & Co Group
Byron Hamburgers

The Community Engagement Award sponsored by Diageo
Food Cardiff

Best Employer Award sponsored by Learning Curve Group
The Peach Pub Company Ltd

Chris Beaumont Special Award sponsored by Bidvest Foodservice:
David Noble

Fiona Colley Award:
Kai Palmer and Connor Pomroy

Related news


Follow us

Hospitality Guides

View more

Featured Suppliers

All suppliers

Free Email Newsletter

Subscribe to BigHospitality

The trusted industry reference point

Get the latest news & analysis from the UK hospitality sector straight to your inbox!